Incentives for Plug-in Hybrids and Electric Cars

By · September 26, 2018

> See all Guides

Federal Incentives

We're doing our best to track the growing list of federal and state-based incentives for purchasing an electric car or plug-in hybrid. See how much you can save to get behind the wheel of an electric-drive plug-in vehicle. Help us keep the list up-to-date by letting us know if you have info about new or changing incentives.

New Plug-in Car Purchases

Buyers of plug-in hybrids and electric cars benefit from a tax credit of $2,500 to $7,500, depending on the size of the battery in the car. On the low end of the spectrum, cars with 4 kWh battery packs will qualify for a $2,500 tax credit. The credit maxes out at $7,500 for cars with a 16 kWh battery pack, like the Chevy Volt. The credits were provided as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, otherwise known as the “stimulus bill.” The incentive begins phasing out after an automaker sells 200,000 vehicles that are eligible for the credit.

Utilities: Rebates and Better Electricity Rates

Many electric utilities around the country offer special rates, including time-of-use (TOU) rates, to reduce the cost of powering an electric car or plug-in hybrid. The reduced EV rate can significantly reduce the cost of charging your car. Check with your local utility company for exact rates and other details.

Southern California Edison, which provides electricity to 14 million people, now offers a $450 reward to customers who drive plug-in vehicles. Utilities in California, and other states such as Georgia and Florida, have offered perks and special rates for years—but the new SCE incentive makes second and third owners of a vehicle eligible for the payment.

As the market for electric vehicle expands, it’s important to incentivize new waves of buyer who might be interested in less expensive used electric cars. To qualify for a payment, customers with an active SCE residential account submit an application through the Clean Fuel Rewards website.

PG&E customers with EVs are eligible to receive a $500 Clean Fuel Rebate for their use of electricity as a clean transportation fuel.

Discounts on Insurance

Several major insurance companies, such as Farmers, offer discounts of 5 percent or more for owners of electric and hybrid cars. Inquire with your insurance agent for details. We will continue to investigate which companies offer the best rates for EV owners and will post to this page.

Charging Equipment

Some states offer EV buyers and businesses a credit for the purchase and costs of charging equipment.

On Friday, December 18, 2015, President Obama signed the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2016 (H.R. 2029). Division Q, the Protecting Americans from Tax Hikes Act (PATH Act), retroactively extending the tax credit for EV charging infrastructure for 2015 and going forward for 2016 (www.afdc.energy.gov) Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Tax Credit. Section 182 extends the tax credit for alternative fuel infrastructure through December 31, 2016. Fueling equipment and related infrastructure for electricity are eligible for a tax credit of 30 percent, up to $30,000. Retroactive for EV Charging Infrastructure placed in service in 2015. This means if you installed EV charging in 2015, you can take advantage of this credit for your investment. Residential fueling equipment may receive a tax credit up to $1,000.

Conversions

Drivers converting a car into a plug-in hybrid, or a gas-powered car into an electric vehicle, had received a tax credit equal to 10 percent of the conversion cost. But that federal incentive ended on December 31, 2011. Individual states, such as Colorado and Florida, provide additional incentives, such as rebates and state tax credits.

State Incentives

Arizona

Reduced license fees are available for electric cars and some plug-in hybrids. A tax credit of up to $75 is available to individuals for the installation of EV charging outlets in a house constructed by a taxpayer.

Arizona grants carpool lane access for most EVs and plug-in hybrids, but that program was limited to 10,000 vehicles and has reached its capacity.

The state designates some parking areas for carpool operators only. All alternative fuel vehicles qualify for the parking privilege and don’t require a special license plate like the HOV program. Plug-ins also qualify for a significantly reduced vehicle license tax.

California

The Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) offers rebates for the purchase or lease of qualified vehicles. The rebates offer up to $2,500 for light-duty zero emission and plug-in hybrid vehicles that the California Air Resources Board (ARB) has approved or certified. The rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis to individuals, business owners, and government entities in California that purchase or lease new eligible vehicles. In periods when funding exceeds current budgets, waiting lists can form.

In September 2016, the program received an influx of an additional $133 million, enough to fund more than 50,000 additional rebates. Households earning more than $300,000 and individuals reporting more than $150,000 per year are no longer eligible. For more information, including a list of eligible vehicles and other requirements, see the CVRP website.

California's Clean Vehicle Assistance Program provides grants and affordable financing to help low-income Californians purchase a new or used hybrid or electric vehicle. Its goal is to make clean vehicles accessible and affordable to all who qualify. The maximum income for an individual is $48,560, with a scale that climbs to a max of $100,400 for a family of four or $169,520 for a family of eight people. Grants are for new or used clean vehicles. You can get a $2,500 grant for a hybrid vehicle or a $5,000 grant for a plug-in hybrid or electric vehicle. Battery electric vehicles can also include a charging unit and its home installation. For more information, visit https://cleanvehiclegrants.org.

For public agencies, the Bay Area Air Quality Management District’s (Air District) PEV Rebate Program provides funding through vouchers that are issued in these amounts: (1) $2,500 per light-duty zero-emission vehicles, including battery electric and hydrogen electric vehicles; (2) $1,000 per light-duty plug-in hybrid electric vehicles; (3) $500 per zero-emission neighborhood electric vehicles; and (4) $2,500 per zero-emission motorcycles. Vouchers may be redeemed on a reimbursement basis and must be issued prior to the purchase or lease of vehicles. For more information: http://www.baaqmd.gov/Divisions/Strategic-Incentives/On-Road-Vehicles/Pu...

An unlimited number of white HOV access stickers were issued beginning on January 1, 2011. Cars that meet these requirements are typically certified pure zero emission vehicles (100 percent battery electric and hydrogen fuel cell) and compressed natural gas (CNG) vehicles. Per AB 266, the expiration date for the white stickers was extended to January 1, 2019.

Green Clean Air Vehicle decals were originally available to the first 40,000 applicants that purchased or leased cars meeting California's transitional zero emission vehicles (TZEV) requirement, also known as the enhanced advanced technology partial zero emission vehicle (AT PZEV) requirement. Per SB 286, the expiration date for the green decals has been extended to January 1, 2019. Per budget trailer bill, SB 853 (Statutes 2014, chapter 27), the green decal limit was increased by 15,000 to 55,000 decals effective July 1, 2014. Now, per AB 2013, effective January 1, 2015, an additional 15,000 decals will be available for a new maximum of 70,000.

Many utilities offer discounted rates for residential vehicle charging during off-peak hours, including PG&E, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, SDG&E, Riverside Public Utilities, and others.

Southern California Edison in May 2017 started offering a $450 reward to customers who drive plug-in vehicles, including to second and third owners of an eligible vehicle. Each plug-in vehicle, identified by its VIN, can qualify for the Clean Fuel Rebate up to three times over its lifetime, but only after a change of possession (i.e., new owner or lessee, as applicable). Each household may receive the Clean Fuel Rebate only one time for an EV, but if you transfer ownership, the new owner (or lessee, if applicable) will qualify for a rebate as long as the new owner or lessee meets the other eligibility requirements and the vehicle has not reached the maximum of three rebates associated with the EV. If you have multiple eligible EVs in your household, you may receive a rebate for each vehicle if you otherwise qualify. For a list of eligible vehicles and other details, visit Southern California Edison’s website about its Clean Fuel Rewards Program.

PG&E customers with EVs are eligible to receive a $500 Clean Fuel Rebate for their use of electricity as a clean transportation fuel. You must be a PG&E customer with an active residential electric account. As the account holder, you may also apply on behalf of an EV owner in your household (or tenant in a multifamily household) with the vehicle owner’s permission.You must own or lease an eligible plug-in electric vehicle or have permission from the vehicle owner to submit the application.Your vehicle, identified by its unique vehicle identification number (VIN), must not have already received the Clean Fuel Rebate under the current owner or any previous owner. You must have paid the vehicle's current registration fees and your vehicle must be registered in California to the address on your PG&E account. Learn more about PG&E’s Clean Fuel Rebate program.

The LA Department of Water and Power’s “Charge Up L.A.!” program offers residents a rebate of up to $500 toward charging equipment and installation. Visit the program website for more details.

Residential property owners may have access to Property-Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) financing to install EV supply equipment (EVSE), depending on if the local government has a PACE program in place. PACE financing allows property owners to borrow funds to pay for the EVSE, and repays the funds through a special assessment on the property over a defined time.

Sacramento offers free or discounted parking to individuals or small businesses certified by the city's Office of Small Business Development that own or lease EVs with an EV parking pass in designated downtown parking garages and surface lots. Free EV charging is also provided in several parking garages.

Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) is offering residential customers either a $599 rebate or a free Level 2 charger for SMUD customers who purchase or lease an EV. Los Angeles Department of Water and Power’s Charge Up LA! Program offers a $500 rebate for the installation of an EV charger and an additional $250 and 2.5 cents/kWh rate discount with a separate meter TOU rate enrollment for purchases before June 30, 2018.

The City of Anaheim provides a $400 rebate and a city permit fee waiver for a level 2 charger installation.

Burbank Water and Power in Burbank, Calif., offers rebates on electric vehicle charging stations as follows: up to $500.00 for residential equipment and up to $1,000.00 for commercial stations. In addition, a discounted per kWh rate for use of public EV charging locations is set to $0.1744 for off-peak hours and $0.3053 during peak hours. See more information on incentives in Burbank.

The City of Colton also offers $500 for a Level 2 charger installation for either residential or commercial use.

Glendale offers a $500 rebate for installation of a Level 2 charger.

Pasadena offers $200 worth of LED lights for EV purchase with an existing 120/240 volt AC charger or $200 worth of LED lights and $400 rebate for EV purchase and EV charger installation.

Solo drivers of conventional hybrid gas-electric cars that had been issued yellow stickers are no longer eligible for HOV access.

The "Remove II Program" is administered by the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District (APCD) and provides incentives for the purchase of low emission passenger vehicles, light-duty trucks, small buses, and trucks with Gross Vehicle Weight Ratings of 14,000 pounds or less. The program offers between $1,000 and $3,000 per vehicle and varies according to the emission certification level and size of the vehicle. Vehicles must be powered by alternative fuel, electric, or hybrid electric motors. The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District is made up of eight counties in California’s Central Valley: San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Merced, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare and the San Joaquin Valley Air Basin portion of Kern. Rebate vouchers are available for the purchase of electric vehicles in qualifying counties up to $3,000.

In June 2009, Sony Pictures Entertainment established an employee incentive of up to $5,000 when they buy either a hybrid electric vehicle or install solar voltaic panels on their residence.

Colorado

Colorado offers an income tax credit of $5,000 for those who purchase an EV and $2,500 for those who lease an EV. The Colorado tax credit can be assigned to a dealership or finance company in exchange for the dealer slashing $5,000 off the purchase price. In this way, the tax credit becomes immediately available when you buy the car. See more details on HB 1332.

Grants are also available to local governments for the installation of EV charging stations. Grants are prioritized based on the local government's commitment to energy efficiency.

Electric cars and plug-in hybrids are eligible for the HOV lane regardless of the number of passengers.

EVs are exempt from emissions testing, but must pay a $50 annual registration fee according to HB 1110, Section 12, 42-3-304.

Charge Ahead Colorado offers funding for up to 80% of the cost for a home charging station, up to $3,260 for a Level 2 station with a single port and $6,260 for a multi-port, and $13,000 for a Level 3 station with a single port and $16,000 for a multi-port.

Connecticut

The Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate (CHEAPR) program offers up to $3,000 per vehicle for battery electric, fuel cell electric and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles. CSE anticipates issuing rebates for about 325 vehicles in this initial phase of the program on a first-come, first-served basis. Individuals are limited to one rebate, however, businesses, nonprofit organizations and government entities can receive two rebates.

Since 2005, New Haven, Connecticut has provided free metered parking for hybrids and EVs. Parking permits are available from the city. All approved vehicles must display a parking decal.

EV drivers receive a discounted registration of $38. BEV drivers are exempt from the emissions testing required of all other vehicles every other year.

Delaware

Delaware announced a new rebate program on July 16, 2015. You can receive a rebate of $2,200 toward the purchase or lease of a new qualified electric vehicle, or $1,100 towards retrofitting an internal combustion engine into a dedicated electric vehicle. More details are available here: http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/energy/Pages/The-Delaware-Clean-Vehicle-Re...

Delawareans may also apply for a $500 rebate for the purchase of electric vehicle charging equipment. Get more info at http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/energy/Pages/The-Delaware-EVSE-Rebate-Prog...

This pdf provide an overview of the Delaware rebate programs: http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/energy/Documents/Transportation%20Program/...

District of Columbia

Plug-in vehicles are exempt from the excise tax imposed on an original certificate of title, and a reduced vehicle registration fee of $36.

Florida

Electric cars are exempt from most insurance surcharges. Electric cars are granted access to carpool lanes.No emissions testing required for registration.

JEA, a utility company in Jacksonville, JEA, is offering a rebate of up to $1,000 for purchased or leased plug-in vehicle: $500 rebate for a plug-in vehicle with a battery size smaller than 15 kWh; and a $1,000 rebate for a plug-in vehicle with a 15 kWh or bigger battery size.

The Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC) offers a rebate of $200 per station for businesses to install workplace EVSE. Local governments may also offer funding to property owners within their jurisdiction to help with EVSE financing.

Gulf Power offers $750 with the purchase of an EV to install an EVSE. The program is available to the first 1,000 participants and expires December 31, 2018.

Georgia

The Georgia tax credit is no longer effective (as of July 1, 2015). Previously, the state offered income tax credits for up to 20 percent of the cost of an electric car—maximum of $5,000—or 10 percent (with a max of $2,500) for a car conversion to use an “alternative fuel” including electricity.

Contact: James Udi, Environmental Specialist, Georgia Environmental Protection Division, james_udi@dnr.state.ga.us.

Georgia Power, the largest utility in the state, has a $12 million pilot program that offers incentives to residential customers of $250 (and up to $500 for businesses) for installing certain types of EV chargers.

EVs with solo drivers are eligible for the HOV lane with the correct license plate displayed.

Georgia Power offers three different charging rate options for residential customers. The Plug-In Electric Vehicle rate provides a discount on electricity when used from 11 pm to 7 am.

EVs are exempt from emissions tests.

Hawaii

Qualified plug-in electric vehicles affixed with special state-issued license plates may use HOV lanes regardless of the number of passengers and are exempt from parking fees charged by any non-federal governmental authority. The exemptions are effective through June 30, 2020. Previous rebates have expired.

The parking is essentially free at the Honolulu International Airport. An electric vehicle charging station, which can provide service to two vehicles, is located on level 1 of the international arrivals parking structure. The current charge for use of the electric vehicle charging station is $7.00 for 24 hours. For more information, go to http://hawaii.gov/hnl/airport-parking/electric-vehicle-parking.

Hawaii Electric Company offers two residential EV charging rates with savings at off-peak hours, as well as a commercial EV charging rate as part of a pilot program.

There's no emissions testing required for electric vehicle registration.

Illinois

In late March 2015, representatives of the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency announced that consumers who purchased a new plug-in vehicle in 2014, or later, will not receive a $4,000 rebate from the state. The rebate program was started in 1998. There are currently no plans to reinstate the program.

For questions, contact Darwin Burkhart, Manager, Clean Air Programs, Illinois Environmental Protection Agency and Chicago Area Clean Cities Coalition. darwin.burkhart@illinois.gov; http://www.illinoisgreenfleets.org

EVs are eligible for a reduced registration fee of $35 for a period of two years. They are exempt from emissions testing.

Louisiana

The state has an incentive on the books, offering an income tax credit worth 50 percent of the cost premium of an electric car, plug-in hybrid, or converting a vehicle. A taxpayer may instead take a tax credit worth 10% of the cost of the motor vehicle or up to $3,000, whichever is less. Similar credits are available for charging equipment installation. However, calculating the credit is tricky. If there is no gas-equivalent for a car, then the fixed premium cost is 7.6%. It is scheduled to increase to 10% in the 2018 tax year—although the future of the credit is uncertain. Consult a tax professional.

Charging infrastructure projects may be eligible for certain green project tax credits, up to 36% off purchase and installation of a charging station. The tax credit is effective until June 30, 2018. Starting July 1, 2018, the credit will provide up to 50% costs.

Maryland

State-based credits are offered, while funding is available, based on the vehicle’s battery capacity—based on $125 times each kilowatt-hour, not to exceed $3,000. In addition, Maryland offers a rebate for installing EV charging stations of up to $900 for individuals and $5,000 for businesses.

You may also be eligible for a one-time excise tax credit, up to $1,000, when you purchase a qualifying plug-in electric vehicle. Effective July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2017, an individual may be entitled to receive an excise tax credit on a qualifying plug-in electric vehicle regardless of whether they own lease the vehicle. Business entities may also qualify for the tax credit on up to ten vehicles. Credits requests received are processed subject to the availability of funds.

The criteria and process for applying is available through the Maryland Department of Transportation.

Drivers of plug-in electric vehicles, titled and registered in Maryland, will be allowed to use the HOV lanes in Maryland regardless of the number of passengers, providing they obtain and display an HOV permit on the vehicle. The vehicle owner(s) must complete the Application for Plug-in Electric Vehicle HOV Permit (form VR-335). The permit will be valid through September 30, 2017. You may download the form for the permit from Motor Vehicle Administration website at http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Resources/VR-335.pdf

Massachusetts

The Massachusetts Offers Rebates for Electric Vehicles (MOR-EV) program provides incentives to Massachusetts drivers who purchase or lease for 36 months a new qualified electric vehicle. For a complete list of eligible vehicles and information about the MOR-EV program, learn more at www.mor-ev.org. Rebates of up to $2,500 are available to Massachusetts residents who purchase or lease a qualified vehicle. Only vehicles listed on the MOR-EV program website are eligible for a rebate. The types of vehicles include battery electric cars, fuel cell electric cars, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, and zero-emission motorcycles. Visit the MOR-EV program website for a complete list of eligible vehicles and to begin the application process.

On Jan. 15, 2016, the Baker-Polito Administration added $2 million in funding to Department of Energy Resource's electric vehicle rebate program.

EVs are exempt from emissions tests.

The Massachusetts EV Incentive Program (MassEVIP) provides grants to businesses with 15 or more employees for the installation of Level 1 or Level 2 EV charging stations. The program will provide 50% of the funding (up to $25,000) for the hardware costs. Cleanview Energy offers a $75 rebate towards a new ChargePoint residential EV charger with enrollment in ClearCharge Energy Plan.

Michigan

Various utilities throughout the state offer discounted rates for residential vehicle charging during off-peak hours. The Lansing Board of Water and Light offers an experimental residential EV charging rate. Indiana Michigan Power offers a specific EV charging rate. Consumers Energy offers a time-of-use EV charging rate, with reduced prices between 11 pm and 7 am. DTE Energy also offers two specific EV charging rates.

EVs are exempt from emissions tests. Beginning in January 2017, passenger plug-in hybrids are subject to an increase in registration fees of $30 and EVs are subject to an increase of $100.

Montana

A tax credit of $500 is available for an electric car conversion.

No emissions testing required for electric vehicles.

New Jersey

Zero-emissions vehicles sold, rented, or leased in New Jersey are exempt from state sales and use tax. This exemption is not applicable to partial zero emission vehicles, including hybrid electric vehicles. ZEVs are defined as vehicles certified as such by the California Air Resources Board. For more information, visit the New Jersey Department of the Treasury website.

Electric cars qualify for access to the carpool lane. In addition, the New Jersey Turnpike Authority offers a 10 percent discount on off-peak New Jersey Turnpike and Garden State Parkway toll rates through NJ EZ-Pass for drivers of vehicles that have a fuel economy of 45 miles per gallon or higher and meet the California Super Ultra Low Emission Vehicle standard.

EVs with solo drivers are eligible for the HOV lanes on the NJ Turnpike.

PSE&G offers a time-of-use rate for EV charging at reduced off-peak rates.

EVs are exempt from emissions testing.

New York

The Drive Clean Rebate for Plug-In Electric Vehicles, which started on April 1, 2017, offers up to $2,000 for an EV or plug-in hybrid.

EVs with solo drivers are eligible for the HOV lanes on the Long Island Expressway with proper decal.

EVs are exempt from emissions testing.

EVs are also eligible for the Green Pass Discount Program, which offers a 10 percent discount to EZ-Pass toll road fees.

The EV Charger Rebate program provides a credit for the installation of EVSE to certain qualified property up to $5,000 or 50% the cost of the property, whichever is less. Cleanview Energy offers a $75 rebate towards a new ChargePoint residential EV charger with enrollment in ClearCharge Energy Plan.

Ohio

In Cincinnati, EV drivers get free parking at any meter in the city and at two city-owned parking garages. Applications are available from the city.

EVs are exempt from emissions testing after a one-time verification inspection conducted by Ohio EPA Mobile Sources Section.

Oregon

In July 2017, the Oregon House approved a $5.3 billion, 10-year transportation funding package (HB 2017), that includes plug-in vehicle incentives. Rebates for qualifying vehicles are set annually by the department as follows: (a) For light-duty zero-emission vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles with an electrochemical energy storage capacity of 10 kilowatt-hours or more, up to $2,500 but not less than $1,500. (b) For light-duty zero-emission vehicles or plug-in hybrid electric vehicles with an electrochemical energy storage capacity of fewer than 10 kilowatt-hours, up to $1,500 but not less than $750.

To be eligible for a rebate, a person requesting a rebate under the program must purchase or lease a qualifying vehicle. A lease must have a minimum term of 24 months; provide proof of an intent to use the qualifying vehicle primarily on the public highways of this state, which may be satisfied by providing proof of registration of the qualifying vehicle in Oregon; submit an application for a rebate to the administrator of the program within six months after the date of purchase of the qualifying vehicle or six months after the date the lease of the qualifying vehicle begins.

lthough sufficient funds will not be available until later in 2018, the state is considering allowing rebates for purchases made after January 1, 2018, when the fee on vehicle dealers becomes effective.

See Oregon.gov's page, "Zero Emission Vehicle Rebate Program."

Pennsylvania

Cleanview Energy offers a $75 rebate towards a new ChargePoint residential EV charger with enrollment in ClearCharge Energy Plan.

PECO offers a $50 rebate for EV owners filling out a survey: https://www.peco.com/Savings/ProgramsandRebates/Residential/Pages/SmartDriver.aspx.

Rhode Island

In January 2016, Rhode Island state energy commissioner Marion Gold announced the availability of $200,000 for a new electric vehicle incentive program from the Office of Energy Resources. Qualified applicants can get up to $2,500 in a rebate tied to the lease or purchase of a new electric vehicle. However, effective July 10, 2017, the DRIVE program is suspended due to the unavailability of program funding. OER will not accept any DRIVE incentive applications that are postmarked on or after this date.

The town of Warren offers residents with plug-in cars an excise tax exemption and reduced registration, described as an exemption "from the tax imposed by this chapter in an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) motor vehicles registered in Warren."

EVs are exempt from emissions testing but must pass a safety inspection.

South Carolina

A state income tax credit equal to 20 percent of the federal fuel cell, advanced lean burn, hybrid electric vehicle, and alternative fuel vehicle credits is available to South Carolina resident taxpayers who are eligible for, and claim, the federal credits. This credit applies to electric cars and plug-in hybrids.

See "Green Driver State Incentives in South Carolina" for details.

Duke Energy offers funding up to $5,000 per charging port, $20,000 per site, or $50,000 per city for EV charging as part of the EV Charging Infrastructure Project.

Tennessee

The $2,500 incentive offered to plug-in vehicle buyers in Tennessee is no longer available. The incentives were originally open to the first 1,000 buyers of the Nissan LEAF and Chevy Volt in 2010. It was a joint program by the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development and The EV Project. The national EV Project stopped taking enrollment on Jan. 31, 2013. (By that point, 772 rebates had been issued in Tennessee, totaling $1.8 million—about $700,000 short of its original goal, according to the Associated Press.)

EVs with solo drivers are eligible for the HOV lane but must apply for the Smart Pass program and display the decal in the lower right side of the rear window.

Texas

After a three-year absence, Texas in June 2018 started offering rebates for the purchase of alternative fuel vehicles. Texans who bought electric cars, plug-in hybrids or hydrogen fuel cell car starting in Sept. 1, 2017 cars could get $2,500. The program ends May 31, 2019, or when the money runs out. The Texas Legislature set aside more than $7.3 million for the program. The rebates are processed by dealerships. Because doesn’t allow manufacturers to sell vehicles directly, Tesla cars are excluded from the rebates.

The city of San Antonio offers free metered parking for EVs. The city of Austin offers rebates up to $1,500 for the purchase of EV charging equipment. Austin Energy offers an EV360 Pilot Program for EV charging with reduced off-peak rates from 7 pm to 2 pm the next day on weekdays, and anytime on weekends. The lowest rates offered are $30/month. There is a one-time enrollment fee of $150.

The AirCheckTexas Drive a Clean Machine program provides a rebate up to $3,500 for vehicle replacement to a PEV if certain county and income requirements are met, and certain vehicle conditions are met.

EVs are exempt from emissions testing.

Utah

The state provides an income tax credit up to $750 for a plug-in vehicle and up to $2,500 for a conversion. For details, contact Mat Carlile, Energy Program Coordinator, Utah Department of Environmental Quality, Division of Air Quality, mcarlile@utah.gov.

EVs with solo drivers are eligible for the HOV lane with proper Clean Fuel Vehicle Decal and Permit.

EVs are eligible for free parking up to two hours at Salt Lake City parking meters, with a Green Vehicle parking permit.

Washington

EV and qualifying plug-in hybrids are eligible for a sales tax exemption for the purchase or lease of the vehicle. The exemption is available until July 1, 2019. Businesses are eligible to receive tax credits on a first come, first serve basis up to 50% of the incremental cost of the EV. The maximum commercial tax credit is based on the weight rating of the vehicle.

EVs, which are exempt from emissions testing, are subject to an annual $100 registration fee.

Pugent Sound Energy offers a $500 rebate to customers to purchase and install qualified Level 2 chargers.

Canada

British Columbia

B.C. residents will get up to $5,000 off the sticker price of a qualifying clean energy vehicle starting Dec. 1, 2011. The rebate includes qualifying new vehicles that are battery electric, fuel-cell electric, plug-in hybrid electric and those that operate on compressed natural gas. There are about 30 such vehicles for fleets in B.C., and 10 to 20 for residential use. As part of the $17-million program, the province is also providing funding for new charging stations and upgrades to hydrogen fueling stations at existing facilities. Homeowners who want to install a charging station will get a $500 mail-in rebate for eligible units.

On March 7, 2018, three new rebates, funded with $1.85 million from the Province of British Columbia as part of its Clean Energy Vehicle Program and administered by Plug in BC, became available through March 31, 2020 (or while program funding lasts). A rebate for Single-Family Homes and Duplexes covers 75% of costs, up to $750, for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 (208v/240v) charging station for residential use installed February 1, 2018 or later. A B.C. resident can request the rebate after the purchase and installation of the station is complete. The second rebate, for Multi-Unit Residential Buildings. covers 75% of costs, up to $4,000, for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 station (208v/240v). An applicant must apply in advance of a purchase and installation of a station and may apply for more than one station. The third rebate for Workplaces covers 50% of costs, up to $4,000, per Level 2 station (or $2,000 per Level 1 (120 v) station). An applicant must apply in advance of a purchase and installation of a station and may apply for more than one station. Rebates are available by application on a first-come, first-serve basis, subject to consideration of a fair geographic distribution of the incentives in B.C. Plug in BC offers support and information to applicants, including free consultations on the steps to set up a charging station in a multi-unit residential building or workplace. For details and to apply, visit: pluginbc.ca/chargingsolutions

Ontario

Ontario canceled the cap and trade program to bring gas prices down and help lower costs for Ontario families and businesses. As a result, on July 11, 2018, the Electric and Hydrogen Vehicle Incentive Program was canceled. As a result of the recent decision by the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, the ministry is to expand the wind-down process for the Electric and Hydrogen Vehicle Incentive Program.

Incentives will be provided as long as the following conditions are met: (1) Eligible vehicles were delivered, registered, and plated on or before July 11th; or, (2) eligible vehicles were on dealer lots in Ontario, or on order by dealers or by customers directly from manufacturers on or before July 11th, and delivered to customers, registered and plated on or before September 10, 2018. These vehicles must be on the ministry approved order list from dealers and manufacturers. Applications must be submitted within 90 days of vehicle registration, plating, and delivery. Charging stations purchased and/or installed before this date will be eligible to receive incentives if the application is submitted within 60 days of July 11.

The Hudson Bay Company is offering free valet service for electric cars.

New to EVs? Start here

  1. Seven Things To Know About Buying a Plug-In Car
    A few simple tips before you visit the dealership.
  2. Incentives for Plug-in Hybrids and Electric Cars
    Take advantage of credits and rebates to reduce EV costs.
  3. Buying Your First Home EV Charger
    You'll want a home charger. Here's how to buy the right one.